Action, not thought, is top dog – especially in a rainstorm.

Posted: September 27, 2009 by Thrivelearning in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Of course it was inconvenient. I’d left a pallet of paper-sacked seed out in the bed of the truck, with just a tarp laid over them to keep out the dew.

Here it was, sun wasn’t up. Wind was blowing through my open windows as I struggled to cozey down under my blankets. Weather shift, it came to me. Echoes of weather forecasters telling me a cold front was moving in. Meant rain.

And then I started hearing drops. Big ones. Far apart right now, but that could change at any time. So I threw the covers aside and shrugged on some chilled jeans and slightly warmer socks.

Strugging into a sweatshirt, I paused, I wondered if I should start up the computer to check the online radar. But wisely, I thought better as the drops increased their tempo on our barn roof nearby.

Slapped on a ball-cap and stomped into my gum boots as I went out through the porch into the still-dark morning.

Fumbling for light switches, I got a few on while the rain started an irregular cadence of sorts on that tin roof. The tarp couldn’t have blown far, I reasoned, but the bungey cords hung on the dark wall refused to come loose easily, wanting more daylight to loosen their grip.

Finally, I got some free and in the scant light out of the open barn door, I pulled the tarp back over the pallet of seed bags – which towered over my head and out of reach – then got each corner tied into the pickup bed in some sort or fashion, with the whole thing barely snugged tight just as the wind started whipping down the rain in earnest.

After a quick double-check of the tarp against further wind, I pushed back up to the house, stripped off the wet sweatshirt, then pulled on another dry and warmer one.

Only then did I pour my first cup of hot coffee that morning.

– – – –

And this is intuitional living? Well, yes. I knew without thinking that I better get up right now and get that tarp tied down. Sure, this was from experience of not doing so dozens of times in the past and successfully doing so many times less. I knew all about wind and rain and bags of seed gone to mold after they were wet.

Action, in that early morning darkness, was what was needed.

Surely I could have figured that out earlier – even though I basically saved the day that time (we had another inch of rain before that squall was through, by the end of that morning). Yes, I had listened to an idea to get a tarp over it, but resisted another light idea to secure that tarp so it wouldn’t blow off.

When I did listen, it was intuitional living. When I didn’t listen, it was my own thinking tripping me up.

And so my intuition got me to get out of bed, while my thinking almost fired up the computer to make me too late.

Thinking tops action, it doesn’t speed it or guide it. Thinking just screws things up.

That might be condemnatory, because there are a lot of good uses for thinking. But like a calculator, you turn it off when you are done. You don’t point that calculator or punch its buttons in the general direction of every single thing you are trying to accomplish during the day – do you?

Making a cup of coffee – your mind often winds around to other subjects. Making a cup of coffee is only action, requires little thought. Same for cooking a bowl of oatmeal in the microwave. Turn on the timer and think while you wait. Take it out, stir, cook once more (this keeps it from boiling over and having a mess to clean up, doesn’t it?) More thinking, and then you can eat breakfast – which is almost automatic as well.

But if you think too much during the first cooking, you “forget” that you didn’t cook it all the way – and your bananas and milk now are inseparably mixed with undercooked mush. Yuck.

Thinking just gets in the way.

So the obvious solution is to quiet the mind and get the thinking down to a minimum. Turn it on when you do need it and keep it quiet the rest of the time.

Intuitional Living.

Try it.

Use the Sedona Method to quiet your mind and make living more comfortable and efficient.

Leave a Reply

