How to get common laws from a comparative religion study.

Posted: January 6, 2010 by Thrivelearning in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been one to cross compare data constantly in order to find commonality. So I go back to the area of my PhD in order to get the commonalities of world religions.

On the surface, they have various similarities. This is quite despite the work of various vested interests which say there can be only one “Way”.

So to start off, I’ve been studying and comparing the original Jesus sayings with the Tao and Levenson. Sure enough, they are essentially saying exactly the same points over and over.

To beat this, I’ve gotten a DVD full  of around 3 GB of data from The Internet Sacred Text Archive. So now this makes all my studies much, much easier. There’s incredible cross-overs here, like Buddhism with the Tao to form Zen Buddhism and influence Bushido as well as Kung Fu.

So there’s a wide approach to a huge tent here. When I can just casually see how all these tend to cross and reaffirm each other, then there’s even more to learn here. And I haven’t touched Huna or Islam or Swedenborg. But when you see the Golden Rule and concepts like Huna’s “There are not limits” telling us what  our Quantum Physicists are just now finding out — well, you can see how this just fuels this fire of research all the more.

– – – –

Now, just so you don’t think I went off the deep end, I’m about to take a hiatus back over into grass fed beef. I’ve accumulated a lot of part-time research on mob grazing and other data and want to put this all together so it’s ready for use this spring when I’ll be deciding what beef to keep and fatten up to full size. And since how you raise this beef also determines your cost, profits, and sustainability – it will be a good time to do this now that I’m spending a great deal of time inside.

So expect more on Levenson, my Freedom Is book (as well as my Go Thunk Yourself series) and all that metaphysical scene. But after I finish up working out the business plan for grass fed and finished beef cattle.

Comments
  1. Aidan says:

    Hi Robert

    I very much enjoy and appreciate your site. I also release approximately 15/7, aiming to make that 24/7. There’s a question I want to ask you that occurs to me every time I read your writings and it’s this:

    What do you make of Lester saying “the animals come to us for help and we kill them and eat them”? Not eating animals was apparently one of only two direct injunctions he gave his followers (the other being not to have children). Is there no room in your big tent for non-human beings? There’s no such thing as ‘beef’!

    Anyway, thanks for the lovely, clear writing.

    • @aiden – Well, I think those are both just Lester’s personal opinions. I raise beef so people can eat them. And I also visit my livestock daily to make sure they have plenty of everything they need. Yes, I talk to them and scratch their heads and necks as I can.

      My own view is that each living entity on this planet is here for their own reasons. Since we are really all connected through this experience, it’s moot. I also raise dogs and cats and as well peacocks, chickens, and lots of wildlife. Living and dying is part of life. And the plants we raise are also alive and sentient to some degree. So the logic really doesn’t hold out. Life consumes living things to keep living.

      As the Amerindians and other cultures have it, we should also welcome those entities back into the Whole, something lost in our current Western Tyson/Monsanto culture. But that gets into a completely different set of views than I normally blog about…

  2. Aidan says:

    Thanks for your response, Robert. I was curious as to your view.

    I think the notion of ‘common laws’ derived from a comparitive religion study is absolutely sound and am personally drawn strongly to the Traditionalists in this regard: Rene Guenon, AK Coomaraswamy, Fritjof Schuon, Titus Burckhardt, Withall Perry, and others. They seem to shine a timeless light upon enduring principles, which lets us see exactly what is going on, if we want to.

    Lester Levenson is not to be located among these, however, but sits with Ramana Maharshi and Nisargadatta Maharaj, having taken the direct path of pure nondualism that leads to complete liberation for the soul. It may be that this is the better way – just go straight out, getting lighter and happier, not giving any further regard to the world than you already have, until the light is pure and the happiness is unlimited.

    In the end, the paths appear to be one at a level above the self and beyond the world. The Traditionalists, by themselves, paint a very grim picture of the present age, along with their keys to the metaphysics of different traditions. Lester provides an immediate antidote to the world’s poisons for those whose souls are unaffiliated with a particular path, or who have got stuck at a particular stage upon their way. Plotinus, the master metaphysician, seems to have a pretty complete picture of it all.

    That’s my two-penny worth. As to the animals, I think there is a very beautiful logic to NOT eating them which definitely does hold. It is for each one to investigate for him- or herself, however, since we must all make up our own minds and no-one likes being brow-beaten with arguments they didn’t ask for.

    Anyway, thanks again for a most enjoyable site.

    • @aiden – Just as a curious point, which might not seem all that relevant, is that as the animals are removed from growing areas it starts becoming desert. Proved over and over. But the reverse, when animals (grazers and browsers – plant consumers) are really packed into smal spaces and then moved around daily (by either predators or through “mob grazing” managed grazing) then the land flourishes. But that same land starts holding more and more animals, which then have to be dealt with.

      I think this points more to the point that humankind is slated to be this planet’s managers and gardeners – to practice husbandry.

      Practically what we decide to eat is probably immaterial to enlightenment. Our body is designed to simply convert almost anything we eat into what we need. But the body is another of our creations, as Levenson and others point out.

      I’m fascinated with the bridge between Traditionalists and the Non-dualist approach. Too much “hard-core” stuff based on the pure materialist viewpoint just creates more and more holes in logic which have to be puttied up somehow. But shove some pith in there from a disrelated world-view and watch the fireworks as the whole study gets dissolved in a very workable manner. Like what you hold the Universal Solvent with…

  3. […] How to get common laws from a comparative religion study. Some of my work has always been in comparative studies of world religions, as well as my farming research into grass fed beef. There’s plenty to study and release… […]

  4. […] How to get common laws from a comparative religion study. Some of my work has always been in comparative studies of world religions, as well as my farming research into grass fed beef. There’s plenty to study and release… […]

Leave a Reply

