What is a scam or a cult? Scientology and Harvard.

Posted: January 21, 2010 by Thrivelearning in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Internet scams and corporate cults are very similar to each other.

And since I’ve been on the dirty end of several (plus having written a couple of books on the subject), I figure that I can sit here and explain it a bit more…

A funny thing happened to me recently. A couple of associates of mine, who shared my many years in the Scientology cult/scam/belief-system, were also dissing me for my PhD in Comparative Religions in an online forum.

Now, I don’t have to defend where and how I got my education and my many sheepskins. I freely admit that what Robert Worstell does is easily considered a scam.

And that is the only real difference between myself and those who are all self-righteous about their little operations and how pristinely they run them. I at least admit that I can be considered a scammer. They are too touchy on that subject. (And “pride goes before a fall”…)

Those couple of knuckleheads (amicably called) didn’t bother to spend a few years of their own lives in various educational systems getting any degrees or certificates from anywhere after they “got out” of Scientology. Or at least they don’t admit or disclose it…

Not that it makes any difference. The difference between Sedona University and Harvard is that I didn’t have to pay as much. It’s not the paper you have on your wall or the initials behind your name, but what you do with it – what value you give to others once you completed any training program.

The difference between the richest man in the US and the second-richest man is that one is a college drop-out from Harvard and the other got his degree from a non-“Ivy League” university. Both are outrageously successful. You could have asked Sam Walton, who only ever got a Bachelors from University of Missouri – what was it like creating what has become one of the largest multi-national retailers? Both Oracle’s and Dell’s founders (both on that richest person list) are also college drop-outs.

So these Ivy League “higher education” places are really running scams. To the degree that they tell people they have to follow certain protocols and beliefs in order to succeed in life, they are as well a corporate cult. And making money hand-over-fist is something they also have in common with Scientology.

Scientology differs from these as it is a corporate cult which hems people in on a much wider variety of beliefs that they “have” to hold onto. Much like these secret clubs as George W. Bush and John F. Kerry belonged to. (Difference between Bush and Kerry? Bush got better grades…)

But don’t think I’m bitter about spending20+ years in Scientology. Actually, if it weren’t for all that I learned inside that set-up, I wouldn’t now be able to write books on self-help subjects and help people avoid scams.

If someone wants to get into Scientology and learn about life that way – go right ahead. It’s much better than a lot of other corporate cults.  And they’ll be the first to tell you that if someone is there against their will, they won’t get all possible gains available to them.

The points I most like from this bunch are those they really don’t apply too well – like their own “Way to Happiness”, which is essentially built around the Golden Rule.  Their “Essay on Personal Integrity” would actually take people right out of that belief system – if you religiously followed and applied it.

Another great one is an old poem adopted as corporate policy, which goes something like:

“There’s so much good in the worst of us,

And so much bad in the best of us,

That is ill behooves any of us,

To talk about the rest of us.” (– Anon.)

So I’m doing all I can to help people make the best possible choices for their lives. And I encourage others to do the same. Being critical just doesn’t help anyone with anything. (And there are a lot of critics inside and outside Scientology, as well as through the rest of this world.) But being critical of others just invites criticism of you, doesn’t it?

Constructively giving others options is probably a more survival outlet to explore.

Comments
  1. Brice Dohnal says:

    Thanks for publishing about this. There’s a lot of good Scientology scam info on the internet. You’ve got a lot of good data about that here on your web site. I’m impressed.

    While I try to keep a couple blogs reasonably current, it seems a struggle at times. You’ve done a great job with this one. How do you do it?

    Contact me: Bucciarelli52@gmail.com

  2. […] What is a scam or a cult? Scientology and Harvard. […]

Leave a Reply

